New Year’s Greetings

First off, happy New Year! One of my goals for this new year is to be more active in sharing my love of calligraphy and, as part of that, I hope to update this blog much more frequently! It’s been much too long since my last post (over a year and a half!) and I feel the need to give a brief update.

One thing that’s changed things dramatically is that I got a job and so my spare time has been greatly reduced. I’m working as a screenprinter in a very small shop, just my boss/the owner and one coworker. It’s not exactly what I wanted to do but it keeps me busy and is interesting enough. We print shirts and hoodies and whatever else we get, mostly clothing.

I’ve continued going to Scriptoriums and have been a part of the wonderful community there. That has probably done more for my calligraphy than anything else. There I’ve been learning the basics of Roman Caps and have picked up a decent Uncial hand, as well as being introduced to Roman Rustic and Roman Square Caps or Capitalis Quadrata.

I am currently working on a project for my grandparents wedding anniversary and a project on some nice new black paper and silver ink, both of which I got for Christmas. Plus of course I have many unfinished and gestating projects.

In December I experienced a worrying lack of creative motivation and my calligraphy work all but ceased, however I hope that by sharing here and making time for calligraphy each day I can find my mojo again. Check back soon for some info and progress on the new scripts I’ve been learning.

Questions? Comments? Wanna say "That's awesome!" Now's your chance

