Scriptorium Session #2

Here’s the work I did at the local college’s scriptorium session last Thursday. First it was i’s and o’s again:

Scriptorium 2 - Warm Ups

You can see I have a bad habit of forgetting to cross my ‘i’s. Also another pangram to practice letter spacing

Next I copied a quote the instructor had done and put up on the projector screen. A quote by Chaucer, which I though was a nice coincidence since I brought some Chaucer myself to work on!

Scriptorium 2 Chaucer Quote

Again, forgot to dot some ‘i’s. Plus a random sentence that came out of nowhere!

Then I switched to a smaller nib to work on the Chaucer quote I brought. It’s an excerpt from the prologue to Canterbury Tales. We all had to memorize it for an English class in high school and it’s stuck with me so I thought I’d turn it into a calligraphy piece! I needed to use a smaller nib to fit it all on the paper but I think that was probably a mistake; my time would have been better spent, I think, continuing to work on getting the letter forms consistent and correct because, as you can see, some of the letters are a little wonky!

Scriptorium 2 Canterbury Tales

Pay no attention to the capitals, I still need to work on them. I did dot all the I’s this time! But I misspelled some words. Oh well, it’s Middle English, no one will notice anyway.

That’s all for now! Thanks for reading and as always comments and critiques are welcome!

 

Questions? Comments? Wanna say "That's awesome!" Now's your chance

