Edward Hopper

I’ve admired Edward Hopper for a while, his paintings have a certain quality; maybe it’s uncertainty or a slight dissatisfaction with life. He captures quiet moments and soft street scenes. Gentle, soft, quiet. I associate those things with Hopper’s art. Recently I came across a quote by Hopper and decided it would make for a good piece.

Here’s some examples of Hopper’s work, so you can get an idea of what I’m talking about:

Hotel by a Railroad 1952

Eleven AM 1926

Bistro 1909

I’ve been practicing acanthus leaves from a fantastic tutorial here (honestly that entire website is super helpful, check it out if you are at all interested in calligraphy) and the Hopper quote was a great place to put them to use.

With Pencil, Pen and Ink, Watercolor, and Markers

With Pencil, Pen and Ink, Watercolor, and Markers

And Colored Pencil (the marker bled through)

And Colored Pencil (the marker bled through)

Also it was my first time using gouache, which was interesting. Gouache is often used in calligraphy, particularly with dip pens. It’s slightly thicker than inks, and more opaque than watercolors. It took a bit of getting used to and more than a few tries to get the right consistency; too much water and it’s super runny, not enough water and it’s super thick!

First the text, and the flourishing around the "I"

First the text, and the flourishing around the “I”

Then the acanthus leaves in gouache

Then the acanthus leaves in gouache

And after some fine tuning, the final product!

And after some fine tuning, the final product!

I have also been working on my light-box; which, I’m proud to say, is finished! I’m going to do some detail painting early this weekend, then I should have a big long post about it late Sunday! It is fantastic and will make things go so much faster! I no longer have to make hundreds of lines before I write!

2 thoughts on “Edward Hopper

Questions? Comments? Wanna say "That's awesome!" Now's your chance

