Project Dump: A Progress Report

Hey folks, time for a monthly update! Has it really been that long? Dang, I really hope that’s not the way things will be from now on!

I’ve been working some on emulating medieval manuscripts, I just love the blue and red capitals, and the nice spacing: wide margins and compact scripts.

Here's some Gothic Littera Bastarda Practice

Here’s some Gothic Littera Bastarda Practice

Some experimentation with line spacing and nib size

Some experimentation with line spacing and nib size

And some practice, quoted from Caesars Gallic Wars

And some practice, quoted from Caesars Gallic Wars

And Lastly some more formal practice, with the first verse of the Beren and Luthien story given in the Fellowship of the Ring, by J.R.R. Tolkien

And Lastly some more formal practice with the first verse of the Beren and Luthien poem given in the Fellowship of the Ring, by J.R.R. Tolkien

I’m thinking of learning a new hand, most probably Carolingian. A couple good examples of this hand are found in the Grandval Bible:

A page from the Grandval Bible, c. 830-40

More here (just scroll down a little bit and click on the thumbnail).

And the Ramsey Psalter:

An example page from the Ramsey Psalter, late 900s

Some more here.

I am also working on transcribing Lloyd Reynolds TV program, god knows why. I just finished the first episode and it took me ages! We’ll see if that continues. Unfortunately my hope of focusing on the quenya textbook did not pan out. But I do have some other things to share with you.

Progress on the light box has continued apace, but not quite on schedule. I discovered, upon cutting and gluing some of the pieces, that my design in not a simple as it could be and I am in the process of redesigning now. So yet again work on the hobbit will have to wait. 

Another couple of projects I’m working on is a lovely poem by Tom Clark:

Trying it out in Gothic...

Trying it out in Gothic…

...and in Italic.

…and in Italic.

I think the final will be in italic, with a heavy border along the bottom.

Lastly I’m creating a piece with a couple of lyrics from a Gregory Alan Isakov song:

All shades of blue. practice 01 All shades of blue. practice 02 All shades of blue. practice 03 All shades of blue. practice 04 All shades of blue. practice 05

I’ll have more on those two projects as I keep working on them.

Well that about wraps it up for now. I hope to be able to share some more with you before the week is out. And maybe pick up my posting schedule a bit!

Questions? Comments? Wanna say "That's awesome!" Now's your chance

