New Year, Old Stuff

Before we get too far into the new year I want to let you all know what all I’ve been up to and what I have planned for the auspicious year of 2014. Mostly I’ve just been practicing so I don’t have much to share. I have done a couple quick projects to practice some layouts and such. So here they are:Anarchy

Cat

I have also been doing some research into illuminated manuscripts of the  middle ages. Fascinating stuff! A couple good books I can recommend so far are Illuminated Manuscripts and their Makers by Rowan Watson, published by V and A publications c. 2003; and the Book of Kells by Bernard Meehan, published by Thames & Hudson c.2012. The first is a pretty good introduction to the various aspects of illuminated manuscripts, e.g. minuratures, flourishes, grotesques, historiated initials, as well as a good overview of their production throughout the middle ages. With over a hundred example facsimiles in full color from the Victoria and Albert museum. The second is a fairly thorough overview of the Book of Kells. With enough detail that nothing seems left out but not too much, so that it’s hard to keep track of and gets confusing. With 250 plates, 230 of them in color, The Book of Kells is a fantastic resource!

I have put some of my other projects on hold for the school year, waiting for breaks and such when I can devote more time to them. But I am making strides on completing my light box (!) updates to come. I plan on working on the Hobbit, when I finish my light board, and the quenya textbook during the semester as well as keeping up with calligraphy practice. Well that’s all for now, until next time, fare well.

 

Questions? Comments? Wanna say "That's awesome!" Now's your chance

