I did something! Look! Look!

Good news friends! I now have a fully functional laptop (!) and my computer woes will forevermore be but an unhappy memory.

I know this is a couple of days late but no surprise there right?

I’ve done a rough rough draft of the first section of the quenya textbook, the quenya alphabet, and I have figured out a layout that will work well. I am going to be using my typewriter for the majority of the book (I have an Olympia SM if you want to know) and my fountain pen for the elvish script. I may eventually use dip pens for decoration, but that will be far in the future. I have begun on the first couple of pages, you can see them below. When I’m done I plan on making it into a PDF so you can print it out and learn elvish yourself! I would also point you to quenya101, the course I’m copying can be found under the “Learn-Elvish Course”  tab on their site.

page_001

I haven't done the actual tengwar yet, they go in the big empty space

I haven’t done the actual tengwar yet, they go in the big empty space

I have also started work on the Alice in Wonderland project. I did a pencil drawing of the tea party scene in chapter seven “A mad tea party” after John Tenniel’s original illustration. I scanned it into the computer and resized it then printed it out. I then went over it in pen. The big idea here is to have a quote from the book written out nicely in italics:

“Yes  that’s it,” said the Hatter with a sigh: “it’s always tea-time, and we’ve no time to wash things between whiles.”

“Then you keep moving round, I suppose?” said Alice.

“Exactly so,” said the Hatter: “as the things get used up.”

“But what happens when you come to the beginning again?” Alice ventured to ask.

“Suppose we change the subject.” the March Hare interrupted, yawning. “I’m getting tired of this. I vote the young lady tells us a story.”

Underneath will be the illustration on a tea-pot:

Here's the pencil illustration I did, after John Tenniel's original

Here’s the pencil illustration I did, after John Tenniel’s original

And here's the tea-pot

And here’s the tea-pot

And lastly here's the resized illustration in ink

And lastly here’s the resized illustration in ink

Just imagine the ink drawing overlayed on the teapot. All of this will be attached  to an old cabinet door, surrounded with pages from the book and fragments of real teacups and saucers.

Well that’s about it for now. This week, or what’s left of it, I will be adding the tengwar to the textbook and finishing the illustration. And perhaps also beginning the writing-of-the-quote. Until next time….

Questions? Comments? Wanna say "That's awesome!" Now's your chance

