Some Practice

Well today I thought I’d share some of my practice sheets while I work on a new Rumi poem. So without further ado, here is some italic practice:

The little crosses you see on some of the sheets are me checking my angle, if the two bars of the cross are the same size I have the correct angle for italic: 45°. The last sheet is a partial quote from Oscar Wilde, the full quote is: “I was working on the proof of one of my poems all the morning, and I took out a comma. In the afternoon I put it back again.” I quite like this quote, and I believe I share some of the same perfectionism and indecisiveness it describes.

Next is some practice of the humanist bookhand:

All but the first sheet were done with my brothers double nib pen, a really cool pen whose nib has two feeds, so it leaves to lines. I thought it was pretty neat. Some of you, certainly those who have read this post, will recognize sheet three as a part of the morning verse. The last two were made up, partially inspired by a family game of Settlers of Catan. I got the lined paper from a fantastic line generating site I found that allows you to make custom calligraphy nib ladder/lined paper into printable pdf documents.

Lastly I would like to share a couple of fun things, this first is a bit of experimenting on my part with all the materials I have at my desk, sharpies, chisel-angled markers, highlighters, etc.

 

Next is my attempt at some tengwar, the made up language of Tolkien’s elves. It doesn’t say anything, it’s just all the letters:

 

 

That’s all for now! Tomorrow I hope to post another Rumi poem although it is thanksgiving here in America, so we’ll just have to wait and see.

Questions? Comments? Wanna say "That's awesome!" Now's your chance

