I’m Back

Well, I’m back. That’s the end to one of my favorite novels. It also happens to be true. I’m really back now. After about a month of not posting I finally have my computer situation under control (a spare monitor and wireless keyboard and mouse did the trick). I have always been annoyed by blogs that consist of “oh-gosh-will-you-look-at-how-much-time-has-past” posts, and I guess I’ve annoyed myself, and probably you, with my own “gee-I-really-should-be-posting-more” posts, but that’s done with!! I am more than happy to say that I’m back for good; so here we go:

 

I have been working on my italics using Jacqueline Sveren’s excellent book [book] and I believe I have gotten them up to an acceptable standard. Actually, taking a bit of time to learn another hand really helped me to speed up my italic work. That’s right, I have spent the past few weeks working on my humanist book hand  using the same book. I think I’ve also gotten them up  to an acceptable standard. First a bit about humanist book hand:

 

That is copied from Frederick Wong’s The Complete Calligrapher (pp. 62) onto tracing paper, which actually worked pretty well.  When I first became interested in calligraphy, I believe I mentioned this in a previous post, I looked for several pieces to write out for practice. I considered a Robert Frost poem, but decided it was too long. I found a copy of Rumi poems, specifically Rumi: Hidden Music translated by Maryam Mafi and Azima Melita Kolin. Perfect. Not too long, not too short, they would fit: one to a page. Now, after several months getting up to the point where I feel confident enough in my lettering, I have finally finished the first one:

 

This poem can be found on pp. 197 of Rumi: Hidden Music. That is all for now, but I hope to post again tomorrow.

Questions? Comments? Wanna say "That's awesome!" Now's your chance

