Italics, lesson 4

I went ahead and bought the $13 dollar ounce of ink. Enough is enough, I’m tired of waiting around to get back to work on the hobbit-I’ve got a long way to go on it. In the meantime I have been working on my italics a bit. I have also started writing out the Hobbit on the computer. Reading it from a computer screen will be a lot easier than trying to hold the  book open and write with a quill at the same time. I’ve just finished chapter one on the computer and I did a little test: I made the writing the same size and my handwriting. I figured out that chapter on will be about forty pages when I finish writing it out in ink. That’s a lot of pages! But I’m up for the task!

With my italic work I have moved on to lesson four, after doing lesson three several more times. The goal for this lesson is to work on inter-letter spacing, that is the space between the letters. Two curved letters next two each other should be the closest, a curve and a straight are a little farther apart, and a straight and a straight are the farthest apart. I am also working on a project for a friend, creating  banner for his website.

Italic Calligraphy and Handwriting

Here is the lesson I did from Lloyd Reynold’s book Italic “Calligraphy and Handwriting”. I thought it would be a good idea to post these along with my practice sheets.

Here is some warm up (lesson three) before I move on to lesson 4. I am especially proud of the 4th “o” in the top line. Oops! Looks like I forgot to dot a few i’s

And here is lesson four. I tried doing it on blank paper, with the guidlines on a separate page underneath, but I got frustrated, so I didn’t do that again.

Here is my second attempt at lesson four

Questions? Comments? Wanna say "That's awesome!" Now's your chance

