Scriptorium Session #1

Hello everyone, as I believe I mentioned before a local college is holding weekly scriptorium sessions which I am lucky enough to attend. Before I go to the next one tomorrow I thought I’d share my work from the one last week. I had a great time working on my calligraphy with others and in just one session I saw remarkable improvement! I’m quite excited at the prospect of the rapid progress these sessions offer. Tomorrow can’t come soon enough!

I started off with i’s and o’s and after a couple of lines moved on to an alphabet chain to try to improve my m’s. Next was a pangram to work on some letter and word spacing.

Scriptorium no1 Warm up

 

Next I worked on a poem by Tom Clark, to figure out spacing and lay out for a final piece. But first here’s the same poem written a couple of months ago, for comparison:

Scriptorium no1-when the gods die 0

The missing letter at the beginning is a ‘W’. I planned on adding later as an illumination

And here’s the rough drafts, plus some w’s which I was having some trouble with (being left-handed it’s sometimes difficult to see if I’m getting the right angles and slant):

Scriptorium no1-when the gods die 2

Check out those w’s!

Scriptorium no1-when the gods die 1

I forgot the stanza break in this one, oops!

 

And finally a final working of the poem on nice, clean, unlined paper:

Scriptorium no1-when the gods die 3

Unfortunately I messed up on the stanza break again, plus I mixed up a couple of letters, so it’s not the final version yet; just more practice, which I suppose can’t be a bad thing. Also the missing letter is again a ‘w’ to be added in later as a decorated initial.

That’s all for now, I’ll have more to share after the next scriptorium session tomorrow night.

2 thoughts on “Scriptorium Session #1

    • Thanks! Yeah, the alphabet chain is great for working on individual letters without getting too caught up in the details. Yes I have seen those Lloyd Reynold videos, absolutely inspiring, and quite informative!

Questions? Comments? Wanna say "That's awesome!" Now's your chance

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers

